I have decided to have a new section on my blog, Random Rant, where I will rant on some random topic, once a week (obvious isn’t it?)! 😀

I have a weakness, I admit it, I am an extremely short-tempered person. How much ever I deny, it is true.

The thing is, it’s not like I haven’t tried to overcome this weakness. I really try hard to control it. But that results in me venting out my anger on someone else, instead of the culprit himself… Now there are about 10 reasons that can get me angry which I can list down starting from what angers me the most.

  1. someone hurts people close to me verbally for physically.
  2. someone I do not know insults me.
  3. my decisions about myself are questioned.
  4. someone underestimates me
  5. someone tags me as “STUDIOUS”
  6. someone I hate insults me
  7. someone insults Harry Potter 😛
  8. someone I love picks on me
  9. my beliefs are questioned
  10. I am rudely woken up (never do that :P)

Ok, I know I should control myself and all, but it’s not always possible! I even tried the old count from 10-1 trick. Nothing works.

The thing is, when I lose my temper, I don’t injure the one who angered me. All I can do is try to relax and get away before the situation worsen. But if I can’t, I start talking and well words hurt more than actions, don’t they? That exactly is what happens with me! I say things I never mean. 90% of the stuff I don’t mean, but when I am angry and I start talking, I talk rubbish!

But this does a lot of damage and scares people away from me (not a good thing!), so now I try to control this really hard. I shut up when I get angry. I keep quiet, not uttering the word, till the offender goes away. This works fine in most cases, except the first one. If the offender doesn’t go away, I walk away. Talking and resolving things, or pointing out where someone is wrong, isn’t the best things to do when you are terribly hot headed.

Even though this is fine, I really wanna get over my temper issues. It’s not bad to be angry but me being angry on small things is a bad thing. One thing that is a huge remedy to my short tempered nature is books. I don’t know how but my dear novels (Yes, Harry Potter too), help me a lot to stay calm! I guess I’ll have to improve my self control a lot and use my temper for better stuff… because I have noticed that if I channelized my temper into my work, I work a lot faster! 😀 So I guess I can control it that way!

Got any suggestions for me?

 

