Image

We, as children, are usually advised to read, so that we inculcate good values. But what I’ve come to realize over the years is that, you can’t make someone read for a particular reason. It is not something that can be forced on someone.  Luckily for me, I grew up in an environment, where people all around me loves to read.

From what I remember, I’ve been reading books since the age of 7-8. As a child, I started reading books like fairy tales, stories with perfectly happy endings. But soon enough, thanks to the wonderful library from my school in Pune, I was introduced to one of the intriguing series by Enid Blyton, The Secret Seven Series.

By the time I was 11, I was gifted the book, Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s book, by my parents. I immediately got addicted to it… and became a huge fan of the entire series, thereafter.  I’ve read a lot of books, in the past 8 years, but now I’ve understood the reason why I like to read.

I’m that kind of a person who likes to stay in her own little world, not really interested in being friendly where she doesn’t need to be. So, in such lonely moments, I engross myself in a novel, letting myself to be overwhelmed with the plot of the novel. Also, I’ve realized, reading something, even a newspaper, at times when i feel irritated or angry, soothes me down. It comforts me in such a way that I feel really fresh after reading for an hour or so. Also, it takes me to a different world, way far away from my own, where I can worry about someone else’s worries, think about and try to solve someone else’s love story dilemmas, which invariably, makes me forget about my problems for few hours.

I can read in any possible place : bedroom, hall, kitchen, railway train, bus, car, college, during lectures, even in the bathroom! I’ll get so engrossed that sometimes that don’t even realize someone’s talking to me, till that person practically yells in my ear!

But, just because I like to, doesn’t mean every single person on Earth has to like reading! There are n number of activities and for different people different activities can do to them what reading does to me. So, I think each one of us should discover their favourite pastime and spend some time with it, to relax and recover ourselves from our daily issues.

